Hlomelang: Official Online Publication of the ANCYL
ANCYL Constitution: as amended and adopted by the 25th National Congress September 2015
Hlomelang: Vol. 13 No. 1: 25 July  07 August 2016
Subscribe to ANCYL Media

Enter email address

Alternatively visit this group.


ANC Youth League provides clarity on its national nomination meeting

25 November 2012

On Thursday, 22 November 2012 the African National Congress (ANC) Youth League officially nominated the following comrades for the ANC`s elective conference in Mangaung next month. This message was formally communicated to the public last week.

  • Kgalema Motlanthe - President
  • Mathews Phosa - Deputy President
  • Thandi Modise - Chairperson
  • Fikile Mbalula - Secretary-General
  • Thenjiwe Mtintso - Deputy Secretary-General
  • Tokyo Sexwale - Treasurer-General

The nominations followed robust and rigorous discussions by current members of the ANC Youth League NEC. Before then we underwent a thorough process within ANC Youth League structures and they had their discussions, lobbied amongst themselves and made their nominations. The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) was responsible for overseeing our nomination process at the national nomination meeting and they announced the results from the voting.

Contrary to media reports today, Julius Malema was not party to the discussions at regional, provincial and national level and he therefore has nothing to do with the outcomes of the ANC Youth League nomination process. Julius Malema has also not been involved in any official ANC Youth League activities since he was expelled by the ANC. This is a by-product of the ANC internal disciplinary process and it is binding to all structures of the ANC.

At the end of the day, the collective decided that the above-mentioned comrades led by comrade Kgalema Motlanthe would be best suited to fulfil the ANC political programme and bring about organisational renewal.

Issued by the ANC Youth League